Skip to content

Credit where it’s due – Gravelmaster

April 24, 2012

A few weeks ago I ordered a tonne of fine top soil for my lawn areas. Rather than have my driveway blocked with a large bag that would take me days to clear by shovelling it into a barrow and wheeling it round the back and putting it into a pile where it would get wet, I ordered a pallet of 40 x 25kg bags. So far so good, though the delivery charge incorporated into the overall price was, understandably, quite high.

It all went wrong when the lorry driver got the pallet onto the tailgate with his little forklift truck. It was on two pallets, the tailgate sagged under the weight, the pile of bags tilted, the plastic sheet holding it onto the pallets gave way and a third of them slid off and fell from nearly 2m up onto my tarmac drive. One split open, several had small holes. He had to shift them individually and I was left to brush up and hose off the mess. There were more damaged bags at the bottom of the pile, too.

I amended the delivery slip before signing it and took photos of the mess, which I sent to the firm by email, with a polite complaint, expecting an apology if nothing else.

Imagine my surprise when I got a personal email of apology and a promise of compensation to the tune of the cost of those 13 damaged bags. That refund swiftly found its way to my account so I am pleased to be able to recommend GravelMaster for their products and customer service.

One Comment leave one →
  1. attemptinggreen permalink
    April 25, 2012 12:00 am

    At least they didn’t fall on the car!

Leave a Reply

