Skip to content

Love, life and death

February 22, 2012

With another family funeral next week, an elderly aunty of my wife, I couldn’t help thinking about how she’d been in life: a cantankerous, outspoken, honest, caring person who loved and was loved by her family.

So many funerals in my life, more funerals than weddings, birthdays and christenings added together. Grandparents, parents, aunties, uncles, cousins and friends. Mostly very old but too many younger than me. Babies, children I’ve taught and seen grow through school.

And I thought of my own mortality and that of those around me, relatives still alive but who’s to say for how long? Not all will die of old age.

And I thought of the love that flowed and flows now between us all, despite harsh words over the years which are always regretted and usually forgiven because of love.

“Love is kind, and is not jealous; love does not brag and is not arrogant, does not act unbecomingly; it does not seek its own, is not provoked, does not take into account a wrong suffered, does not rejoice in unrighteousness,”
–Paul in The Holy Bible, I Corinthians 13:4-7

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

