Skip to content

Looking after wildlife

July 11, 2011

I’ve just spent 20 minutes rescuing a bird – a baby woodpecker, I think.
We have a bird-box on a tree in our back garden but the local cats kept climbing up to investigate, which obviously scared the birds away. So I got some old fruit netting and arranged it around the trunk to stop them climbing up.
This evening, as I was doing some pruning, I spotted a wriggling shape in the netting. I think it had tried to force its way through the holes in the netting which were, of course, much too small.
So I ran for a pair of gloves, a craft knife and nail scissors. Boy, did he struggle and use that pointed beak on my gloves, but eventually he was able to fly off.
Good deed done for the day.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

