Skip to content

This week I have been …..

June 8, 2011

mostly moderating A level practical exam scripts. ………  Yawn. But it pays more than my other part-time jobs and it keeps the grey matter functioning.

I’ve also been constructive in the garden:

I’m a cheap-skate.

The tomato seeds came free with a magazine,

the ‘grow-bag’ I made from some polythene sheeting and home-made compost,

the planks, canes and other wood were hanging around in the garage.

OK. I did have to buy a roll of bubble wrap and I did have to buy originally the nails, staples, tape, string etc.

This is version D. Previous versions were either destroyed by wind or failed for other reasons.

It’s not as good as the £200 (or thereabouts) versions I could have bought but, hey, I’m a scientist/engineer; I make and fix things for fun as well as for necessity.

I’ll let you know if I get a crop that makes all the effort worthwhile.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

