Skip to content

Potterton Netaheat boiler manual – get it here

January 29, 2011

I own one of these and recently it didn’t seem to be working normally. So I searched online for help and repeatedly came across people posting on various forums asking the same questions. No-one seemed to have a link to the manual for this obsolete boiler.

Then I remembered a file of stuff that was left by the house’s previous owner and there it was.

So, I’ve been busy scanning it in.

Here (on the left) is page 3, for example.

Unless I’m told it’s still subject to copyright and I mustn’t, I’m happy to make it available to others.

The final .pdf file is 27 pages long but still under 17MB so I’ve put it on another website for direct downloading. You can get it here

I’ve also tracked down an online company selling parts for this boiler: here

N.B. I’ve changed the URL for the store today, as I’ve discovered the website has changed. It asks you to select exactly which Netaheat (or other) Potterton boiler you have  but the range of available parts isn’t large and many are common to more than one model.

If you find that company’s website has changed again and a new link is needed, please update me via a comment.

I’d also like to hear from you if you’ve benefited from either link.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    January 14, 2012 12:26 pm

    Thankyou soo much for putting this manual on the web Driver Rob! We have just got our old faithful boiler going again on a very cold day – just an air tube that got disconnected. It is certainly on its last legs but at least we are sorted til we can organise & pay for a new one!

  2. January 14, 2012 6:37 pm

    Your comment is appreciated. It’s the first one, despite that file having been downloaded dozens of times since I made it available.
    Incidentally, despite a plumber telling me I needed a new boiler, all I needed for mine was a new circuit board (from the supplier link above).

  3. Dapman permalink
    February 13, 2012 9:03 pm

    This will be a real godsend as my boiler is in need of a fan motor. Bless You

  4. DaveS permalink
    February 26, 2012 11:56 pm

    Thanks a lot for this. I think mine needs a new circuit board too. Doesn’t look difficult to fit, but it’s nice to have the proper manual.

  5. February 27, 2012 7:49 am

    Dead easy to fit, Dave. No tools needed.
    We knew we needed one because it wouldn’t ignite unless I pressed on a certain part of the board. Dry joint, though I couldn’t see it.

  6. Chris permalink
    March 28, 2012 7:58 pm

    Thanks Rob – good find, saved me a lot of hassle and money!!

  7. March 28, 2012 8:04 pm

    No problem, Chris.
    Good luck with any repair if you DIY. Just make sure to get the case back on air-tight to the seal.

  8. JENNIE permalink
    November 12, 2013 2:00 pm

    Rob, I was told today that I need a new air pressure switch for my Potterton Netaheat 10/16 Mark 2 and this is unobtainable. Mark at gasboilerparts is ringing me back. He’s got one but not sure if its the right one.. Any suggestions. Jennie

    12.11.2013

  9. Anonymous permalink
    November 12, 2013 7:16 pm

    Thanks, very public spirited. Lets hope I can fix it now. It wont always start, although pilot light lights, when it does get going it seems to stutter and nearly fails. I think it might be the gas solenoid, so might be a job for a plumber. C J.

  10. November 12, 2013 8:31 pm

    Thank you both for your comments, Anonymous and Jennie. However, I’m no plumber or boiler expert, although I did manage to clear a piece of rust which had fallen and was shorting out the spark gap. From one bad experience, the main advice I would give is, if you’re going to employ a plumber, make sure he is qualified to work on gas appliances and make sure he knows about Potterton boilers. I had some guys in fitting thermostatic valves when my boiler started misbehaving and all they would suggest was having a new one as it wasn’t worth repairing. How wrong they were!

  11. Adam permalink
    December 31, 2013 4:55 pm

    Having a few problems with my Netaheat and came across your site while searching for manuals… have downloaded it and think yours is a slightly newer model. But many thanks for the upload!

  12. December 31, 2013 5:04 pm

    It’s 25 years old, Adam, so yours must be almost antique:)
    Alternatively, it could just be a different model. I believe there were several variants.

Leave a Reply

