Skip to content

Direct line loses me as a customer – again.

October 8, 2010

We have several policies with Direct Line. Not only was the coverage good but the premiums were competitive – at the time of taking them out.

In August the renewal premium for my motor insurance went up by about 30% (while Sue’s went down a few pounds!). I changed companies. Then that for the house insurance went up by a similar amount, though they reduced it a bit when I phoned and complained.

This week it was breakdown cover; up by 20%. A few minutes on confused.com revealed loads of companies with lower premiums. A few more minutes comparing the small print led me to a company offering what seems to be near-identical cover for half of what Direct Line wanted to charge me.

I don’t know about you, but my income has risen by about 2% per year recently. There’s no way I’m falling for 20-30% increases in the price of any product if I can find an alternative.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

