Skip to content

UK Budget June 2010

June 8, 2010
tags: ,

Having a spare few minutes last night, musing on the news of strikes in Spain and those in Greece recently, I started thinking about what might be in our imminent budget.

For what it’s worth, and I may be completely wrong, here are my forecasts:

Income tax up
VaT up on everything but extra on petrol, gas and electricity (but not if from renewable sources) and aviation fuel – but not diesel.
Duty on tobacco and alcohol, of course.
House sale tax up.
Scrap £250 winter heating payments for all over 60s but more generous cold weather payments for those on benefits etc.
Extra tax on car parking charges.
Freeze on public sector pay.
Pay cut for all public sector workers on more than £100,000
Freeze funding for running health, education and similar, with cuts in capital.

We’ll see.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 22, 2010 9:05 pm

    Well, I didn’t get much right, did I?
    I suppose that means I think the chancellor is not being ‘harsh’ enough but also that I personally will not be being hit anywhere near as hard as I expected.
    Mind you, I see there’s a reference to forthcoming duty increases already announced in the March budget.

Leave a Reply

