Skip to content

Why “Driver Rob”?

February 28, 2010

Should you be wondering why I chose this ‘nom de web’ may I explain briefly:

In addition to my love of Physics I’ve always enjoyed driving, often as a job to top up my grant/salary/pension.

Late 60s, scooter in London, then my first car.

1970 delivering builders’ materials with a small tipper lorry in North London.

1972-77 HGV2, delivering tarmac for surfacing the M4, concrete (big orange mixer) and general groceries. Also PSV2, doing school and factory coach runs plus works outings, private coach trips and occasional long distance runs.

2004-present, driving vans and cars (up to Rolls Royces, Ferraris and Aston Martins) at the car auction. Also several track days at Brands Hatch in a single seat racing car, a BMW and my own GTO and at Silverstone in a Lotus Exige and Ferrari 360.

2006 Private hire licence, driving stretched limos all over England

2006, 2008 & 2010 driving courtesy buggy and car around the Farnborough air show.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2010 7:17 pm

    I also drove a courtesy car at the Farnborough Air Show 2006 and 2008. I would like to do it again this year. I have not been able to contact Communicor. Any idea as to whom I can contact. Thanks Les Kane

  2. March 11, 2010 7:39 pm

    Hi Les.
    Their listed address (Google search) is 121 Clare Road
    Stanwell, Staines TW19 7QP
    01784 420 888
    I know I went to the office in 2006, but not in 2008.
    I know I had email contact last time but I can’t trace any of the old emails; I suppose they might be on a backup CD somewhere.
    I think I made contact in April 2008 so I might try phoning them later this month. If you succeed first, let me know.

  3. March 16, 2010 1:01 pm

    Hi again, Les.
    Communicor’s phone number is unchanged but they’ve moved offices.
    They are taking on PCO registered drivers for on AND off site work but not yet on-site only drivers as it hasn’t been decided whether they’ll have to ensure drivers are CRB checked and PCO registered.
    Good luck.

Leave a Reply

