Skip to content

Bid to classify dogs as livestock

April 6, 2008

“THE Seoul city government is seeking to classify man’s best friend as livestock in order to set food safety standards for South Korean lovers of dog meat.

Somewhere between two and four million dogs are estimated to be consumed in South Korea every year, but the slaughtering and processing is carried out in dirty environments and poses a risks to diners’ health. ”

I actually believed all the talk about eating dogmeat in Korea and Vietnam was exagerated, until I found this picture and article.

Read the full story: here

[Source of new photo: here]

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2008 5:13 pm

    I think eating dog is fine if it is not against law in a certain country. Maybe someone believes dog is humans friends. In my point of view, it is just a kind of food. And the most important thing is the safety of the food.

  2. Freeman permalink
    December 16, 2008 11:52 pm

    This is what I don’t understand: people are saying that dogs should not be eaten because they are “dog’s best friend”, but then there are people who think dogs should be wild and free, not “man’s best friend”. What are they supposed to be then, pets or wild ‘things’?
    Well, I think dog meat is fine. Besides, if dogs are wild animals that shouldn’t be around humans, then we have the right to nom them down! Especially the mongrels! Mongrels taste better. And does this break your heart any more than McDonalds? Grow up.

  3. December 17, 2008 7:31 am

    Thanks for the comment, Freeman, but you’ll see that, so far, noone here has said people shouldn’t eat dog meat; certainly not me.
    I’ve eaten strange foods in many countries around the world but I haven’t been to Vietnam or Korea. If I ever do then I expect I would try it. However, I’d be happier if I was sure the animals had been bred and slaughtered under the sort of controlled conditions we’d expect for conventional livestock; not some mutt grabbed off the street.

  4. Justyna permalink
    January 8, 2009 5:52 am

    I’m pretty sure those are NOT dogs in the photo! They look like hogs.

  5. Sam permalink
    October 21, 2009 3:04 am

    This picture is not in Korea. I’m Korean. I guess some one get the picture from China. In Korea, It is illegal to sell whole dog meat in a market place. Only sell cooked meat on dish in restaurants. Anyway dog meat is really really super delicious. Please don’t compare any other meat. Please try to have it, and talk about dog meat. OK?

  6. October 21, 2009 8:47 am

    Justyana, I tend to agree with you.
    The news item and photo came from the BBC so I thought it must all be true.
    The woman behind the counter doesn’t look Chinese to my eyes.
    Is all dog meat delicious, Sam? Doesn’t it depend on the type of dog?

  7. Daniel permalink
    October 29, 2009 5:58 pm

    do you know what ?? there is china, not korea …

  8. somebody permalink
    March 21, 2010 3:41 pm

    that picture is not korea

  9. March 21, 2010 4:58 pm

    OK. I’m convinced. The original picture was posted on Tripadvisor.com by a traveller. I had no reason to disbelieve it but I seem to now.
    I hope the new photo is authentic.

  10. July 25, 2012 6:05 am

    I’ve lived in Korea for more than 14 years. I admit that there are still some people who eat dogs but that is NOT common at all. It’s only those maniac people.

Leave a Reply

