Skip to content

New Years Day Classic Car gathering

January 1, 2008

This is held at a pub only a few miles down from the road from me so this morning I went along. My GTO was by far the newest car ‘on show’ there so I felt a bit of a fraud. By 10 a.m. the car parks were over half full. The front car park area contained gems like these:

classics003sm.jpg

Post war cars were in the side areas: E-types, Aston Martins, MGBs, Jaguars, my GTO …… and this

classics008sm.jpg

By noon all the spaces (and more) were taken. Show cars and visitors’ cars were parked for hundreds of yards on the main road outside in both directions, even on the grass in the middle of the dual carriageway!

Some nice cars were finding it hard to find a space.

classics020sm.jpg

By one o’clock I was getting cold and hungry. There was just enough space to get my car out and back on the road.

More photos are on Flikr: http://www.flickr.com/photos/driverrob

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 11, 2009 9:42 am

    Nice post! Id like to wait for you next post.

  2. October 10, 2011 9:48 pm

    How fabulous are classic cars, not only do they look tremendous at weddings, but nothing quite beats the look and the sound of a classic car.

  3. October 17, 2011 11:30 am

    I love classic cars, I have just invested in an old VW camper van to restore to its former glory. There is nothing more pleasing to see a well polished classic car on the road.

  4. October 17, 2011 12:12 pm

    Hi, Summer. VW camper vans are not my ideal transport but I know they have a huge following. So, good luck with it.

Leave a Reply

