Skip to content

Goodwood Festival of Speed

June 24, 2007

I finished the exam marking on time yesterday so no guilty feelings about taking my first day off in six weeks.

It drizzled on the way down and rained for the rest of the day. It’s still raining now. Sue had bought the tickets for my birthday, back in March. I’d been so looking forward to it.

It was crowded, cold and muddy. The food and drink was over-priced. But the cars on display and running up the hill were brilliant. I took a few minutes of video and about a dozen stills but I was using my old totally manual slr to be sure of the fast action shots. So no photos for a while, I’m afraid.

The main walkways were metalled but we often had to plough through the mud in our wellies. I’m so glad we took them. Our hats and coats are hanging up in the garage to dry. Nearly everything else is in the washing machine having the mud removed.

Would I go again? Not unless fine weather could be guaranteed. But it was an experience; one of those things you just have to do once.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

