Skip to content

Expensive tyre valve

April 18, 2007

My GTO has had a slow leak in one rear tyre now for a month or more. I have to use the electric pump on it about once a week – though it varies.

I finally had a bit of spare time yesterday so I took it to the local place which fitted the tyres in the first place, expecting them to have to replace the valve at a cost of £10 or thereabouts.

The guy tested it with the old soapy water routine and showed me bubbles escaping from a pinprick hole in the tread. The tyre was legal but pretty well worn and had sign of an old age crack in the tread so it really had to be a new tyre. Unfortunately the other rear tyre was also pretty worn and I didn’t fancy the handling characteristics in the wet with one new and one well worn tyre, so it had to be two new ones.

Special price (it always is!) £170. That’s over a week’s (part-time) wages for me!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

