Skip to content

Update on my VK4000

July 28, 2006

OK. I got it wrong. I don’t know where I read that it had 1Gb of memory. It has 128Mb which is divided into fixed partitions for Java (games, I imagine), contacts, images …, leaving 32Mb for music = 3 or 4 mp3 files. Nor exactly useful.

I still haven’t got the Bluetooth or USB link to my PC to work but, at slightly greater expense, I have used a micro SD card to transfer pictures to my PC and, at 512Mb, load nearly 5 albums of mp3 music into the phone. I’ve figured out the mp3 player and it’s fine through the provided Bluetooth adapter and headphones. I haven’t tried it with an actual Bluetooth earpiece. Has anyone?

To anyone who has also just bought one of these phones I’d say ‘go the SD route’. 1Gb cards are now available and even bigger capacity ones are coming. If your PC doesn’t have a card reader you can buy a USB stick that will do the job very cheaply.

 Latest news; please try out my VK4000 forum at http://bvk4000.runboard.com

16 Comments leave one →
  1. olivia permalink
    August 20, 2006 9:08 pm

    can u send and recieve things via bluetooth? ie pictures/music??
    email me as i am about to purchase
    olivia_rawley_14@hotmail.com

  2. August 20, 2006 9:28 pm

    Hi Olivia. As I said elsewhere, bluetooth phone to phone picture transfer worked fine for me, as did simply recognizing another bluetooth phone nearby.
    What I can’t get to work is the bluetooth PC link.

  3. Anonymous permalink
    September 15, 2006 1:11 pm

    Do you need to do anything to install an SD card in this phone? I have tried two 1GB micro SD cards from different manufacturers but when I put the card in, the microSD manager option in to gallery menu just displays the message ‘Insert MicroSD card’. I have also tried getting the phone replaced by Virgin but still have the same problem. I have tested the cards in my camera by the way and they are fine. If you could help I would be very grateful.

  4. September 15, 2006 6:12 pm

    That’s a strange problem. I bought a 512Mb micro SD card and it works fine. It comes with a normal size SD holder, which I then plug into my USB card reader dongle.
    Have any other readers had a similar problem?

  5. David permalink
    September 20, 2006 12:57 pm

    Further to my post about the problems with my two 1GB microSD cards, I did wonder if it is the size that is the problem. Has anyone been able to use 1GB cards or is the bigest that works 512MB?

  6. September 20, 2006 8:01 pm

    I’ve just checked the specification on several sites and they all say ‘up to 1Gb transflash micro SD card support’. I even found a forum where a guy said he had got a 1Gb card to work, though there appeared to be a limit on the number of mp3 tracks so he couldn’t use the whole of the card for music.
    The brand of my own 512Mb card is Sandisk, if that helps.

  7. Lisa permalink
    September 22, 2006 7:44 pm

    I’ve just bought my daughter this phone and tried to put in a 1gb micro card.The phone doesn’t seem to be recognising it at all either.The card is fine as I’ve downloaded music onto no problem.Any ideas.

  8. September 22, 2006 9:10 pm

    It’s beginning to look as if the VK4000 is very choosey about which cards (1Gb cards, anyway)it will work with. What brand is yours, Lisa, and did it actually say “transflash” (whatever that means)?
    Has anyone tried a Sandisk 1Gb card?

  9. David permalink
    September 28, 2006 8:57 am

    If anyone is thinking about getting a 1GB microSD card, the two I have and that are not recognised by the phone are made by Dane-Elec and Kinston.

  10. September 28, 2006 9:27 am

    Thanks for that info, David. That’s useful to know.

  11. November 5, 2006 12:36 pm

    http://mobymemory.com/proddetail.asp?prod=SDSDQ%2D1024%5FBundleBuy

    Works in mine and the card reader works with my Apple mac too

  12. DaveR permalink
    November 18, 2006 7:41 pm

    you can send files to your phone once you have a bluetooth connection by right clicking on the object push and send object, mp3’s go to the music file ect…..am curently fighting with a 1gig kinston memory card….all good fun ? ? ?

  13. danielle permalink
    November 18, 2006 10:56 pm

    im having trouble with the bluetooth, i cnt seem to find other devices has ny1 else had this problem?

  14. DaveR permalink
    November 19, 2006 12:50 pm

    if u mean ur phone cant find other devices then try turning the bluetooth off and back on again u may have to reboot your phone as the bluetooth seems to frezze sumtimes

  15. caz permalink
    December 24, 2006 10:32 am

    im having a vk4000 4 christmas(tomorrow) and am very worried!my mum n dad choose the phone in pink for me but i only wanted a bluetooth, camera and mp3 player so didt really care what phone it was aslong as it has all the points above. SO reading all your comments is not good. what should i tell my mum and dad, would it be worth exchanging my phone for another. please help caz x

  16. December 24, 2006 11:35 am

    Yes, Caz.
    As a phone, it’s great.
    It handles mp3 well but the earpiece bluetooth adaptor doesn’t function well for listening to music; the camera resolution is poor and bluetooth is difficult to work unless you choose the right adaptor. There are much better phones on the market for these functions, I’m sorry to say.

Leave a Reply

