Skip to content

New mobile phone – predictive texting – help !!!!

July 11, 2006

It’s a Virgin VK 4000 which, I believe, is a clone of some other models.

I’ve spent an hour trying to write a message starting with ‘hello’ or ‘this’. It won’t let me.

How on earth do I use or, better still, turn off predictive text? It’s driving me mad.

I tried using the website. It told me to type in #06# and enter the first 6 digits of a number that would appear so they could identify my phone model and help me. Guess what? No number appears.

I’ve searched their website and the user’s manual and can’t find it.

Please, somebody help me.

[edit] sorted one of the problems – the green ‘make a call’ key steps through predictive texting/typing, normal text, all caps or all lower case.

When using predictive text, ignore what appears on the screen until you’ve finished typing a word (one key press on the key that includes the letter you want). Cursor up/down for case change. Cursor left/right for alternative words.

My main problem now is connecting the phone to my PC for exchange of photos, mp3 tunes and for backing up contact data.

 Latest news; please try out my VK4000 forum at http://bvk4000.runboard.com

18 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    July 21, 2006 9:13 pm

    How much did you pay for the phone?

  2. July 21, 2006 10:24 pm

    £71.99 onlne from Tesco.
    I finally found the instructions in the pathetic manual for using the predictive typing feature – haven’t had time to really test it, though.
    I’ve also bought what I hope is the proper USB lead and software from a third party supplier. Again I need time to try it out.

  3. andrew permalink
    August 20, 2006 10:36 am

    press the green picture of a phone (bottom left whem phone closed) when txting that takes of predictive if you look it has a T9 icon on the button.

  4. Anonymous permalink
    August 30, 2006 8:56 pm

    how good is this phone? what is the camera like?
    please write bk asap!

  5. August 30, 2006 9:34 pm

    Most of us think the phone is pretty good. Here’s the url of its spec. http://www.gsmplace.net/phone/vkmobile/vk4000/vk4000.html
    The camera is not up to the quality of a ‘proper’ camera but that’s not why you buy a phone, is it? One reason I bought it was for its size and keyboard protection. I would have bought the Razor for its folding screen but it had bad reviews about its actual performance as a phone.
    Mp3 organisation and playback seem good to me. Taking video is easy but, again, not the highest quality. It logged on in France with no trouble but I’m not a heavy user.
    See other posts in this blog for other comments.

  6. sharon permalink
    September 1, 2006 2:06 pm

    i just brought the vk4000 today, & its now in front of me. 1 or 2 questions.. can you change the themes/skin of the menus? & 2 when my phone is in its non-slided/opened state, the screen shuts off. is there anyway i can turn the screen on without sliding it open? any help would be appreciated. cheers.
    i’m not entirely sure i like this phone. which sucks as i just wasted my money on it. x

  7. September 1, 2006 7:52 pm

    I’ve changed the wallpaper (I like the fish) but I’m pretty sure you can’t change the appearance of the menus; I could be wrong, though.
    I’ve changed the length of time the screen stays on but it always goes off when you close it because you can’t use it closed and it comes back on almost instantly when you slide it open.
    By the way, Tesco does a neat little soft case with a good belt clip just the right size.

  8. katie permalink
    October 14, 2006 2:46 pm

    you can use the phone when its closed but only just after you finish a call

  9. Andy permalink
    November 16, 2006 2:32 pm

    You can also use the phone when closed if you hold down one of the volume buttons on the left hand side. The time will appear, then press the left button under where it says ‘unlock’.

    I’ve got a strange icon at the top of my vk4000 screen. I don’t know what it means and I can’t make it go away. It’s red and blue and isn’t in the instruction manual. Any ideas?

  10. November 16, 2006 2:47 pm

    That’s brilliant, Andy. I’ve just tried it. After about 10 seconds of no use the screen dims, then goes off, even though I’ve set mine to stay on all the time when open. So you can’t run the battery down acidentally with this.

    No idea about the icon. What shape or pattern is it?

  11. Andy permalink
    November 18, 2006 1:41 pm

    Glad to be of assistance.

    The icon is hard to make out. It has appeared to the left of the bell icon (the ‘vibrate’ one). It looks like a small blue phone with a red box immediately to the right of it. The red box has what looks like a white ‘7’ in it, and both the phone and box have a red line above them.

  12. x Amy x permalink
    December 29, 2006 12:37 am

    omg i got the phone as a christmas gift and i just want to say THANKOO to everyone on this page… the phone was driving meh crazy and i couldnt get the text thing going down or the shut off thing and i was going mad!! but BIG thanks to you alll!!!!

    xxxx

  13. alicia permalink
    January 25, 2007 7:17 pm

    the strange icon is bluetooth, and its red when it is on. please tell me what the camera quality is like, in detail, pleaseeee

  14. Ann permalink
    August 1, 2007 6:37 pm

    my daughter has a VK4000 and now can’t suddenly set any photos or pictures that have been bluetoothed to her as her wallpaper. help

  15. August 2, 2007 8:19 pm

    Hi, Ann.
    p 133 of the manual lists the recognised file formats.
    In Gallery, only photos taken with the phone are listed.
    I copied some jpg images to the SD card. They had to be copied to the phone before they would show in the list of images.
    p 97 select an image to use as Wallpaper: A 10kb file worked instantly, a 485 kb file would not work. I don’t know what the limit is.
    Has anyone else tried this?

  16. Charlie permalink
    October 7, 2007 10:52 am

    Hi ive had the VK4000 for ages and when i want to set my own wallpaper, it sets it to the moving fish? whyy? and also, it wont let me use any of my own songs as a ringtone. it used to let me do both of them but now it wont! any ideas x

  17. October 7, 2007 3:32 pm

    Hi Charlie.
    If you’ve followed the standard instructions for seeting the wallpaper (on this thread) and for setting the ring tone (elsewhere on this website) then I can’t imagine why it shouldn’t work any more – unless you’ve filled the internal memory. Are your chosen files shown up as being in memory (i.e. not on the SD card)?
    If not, perhaps you can delete some pictures of move them to the card.
    Good luck.
    Rob

  18. December 3, 2009 11:37 pm

    thanks for help with t9. xxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

